Spring is the time of rebirth and renewal as nature rises from its winter sleep.

red hook sunset

BWAC has re-invented itself from the ground up recovering from Super Storm Sandy that brought 5 feet of water rushing into our ground floor gallery on the piers in Red Hook. Our spring show On The Waterfront: Zone A will open May 11th. We are down the street from IKEA and across the street from Fairway. Rumor has it the Water Taxi will be stopping again at Fairway making easy transportation to us from the Wall Street stop in Manhattan or a quick ride from Fulton landing in Brooklyn. It’s a great way to travel to Brooklyn.

If you are wondering what to do with mom a ride on the water taxi, a casual early brunch by the water at Fairway then a short walk along the water to BWAC for the opening weekend of our double decker show. On the ground floor the 4th Annual Wide Open National Juried Show exhibiting the work of over 100 artist from all over the country.

bwac

Upstairs enjoy the work of BWAC’s exhibiting artist from all over the city with On The Waterfront Zone A. The photo at the top of this blog is the first incarnation of my ceramic piece in the show Red Hook Sunset. Come to the show and see the final result.

Personally this past year has been a challenge for me as I rebuild myself after surgery for thyroid cancer. I knew everything would be okay for sure when my surgery date was moved from Friday the 13th to Good Friday.

But I’m back and re-launching my etsy shop with some new ideas that I will release over the next few months. So please check out my etsy site at www.JudithEloiseHooper.etsy.com

Maybe for Mother’s Day you would like to have Tea for two in a one of a kind teapot. Or gift yourself to brighten up a rainy day.

mom19

I love walking down the street this time of year when the streets come alive with the sights and smells of all the beautiful flowers. My favorites are the green spider mums. They look so elegant and graceful especially when I use them with one of my turtle frogs or is it frog turtle?  Put them in a shallow glass dish with a river rocks and a little water and you have something special.turtlefrog

